Kathmandu University (KU)

Kathmandu University in Nepal

Kathmandu University is a not-for-profit, self-funding public institution established by an act of parliament in December 1991. The mission statement of KU is “to provide quality education for leadership”. The vision is “to become a world-class university devoted to bringing knowledge and technology to service mankind. KU runs academic programs, most of which are credited for being introduced for the first time in the country. 

The University operates through seven Schools: (i) School of Arts, (ii) School of Education, (iii) School of Engineering, (iv) School of Law, (v) School of Management, (vi) School of Medical Science and (vii) School of Science.

The University marked the year 2016 as its Silver Jubilee Year. Silver Jubilee Initiatives – Vision 2030, which pledges thrust for quality, innovation, equity, identity, impact, and global engagement. These initiatives, founded on the University’s key achievements for 25 years in quality education, will remain instrumental towards achieving the status of a world-class university.

At present, the University offers more than 140 long-term and short-term academic programs and courses from intermediate to Ph.D. levels. As of December 2018, the University has produced 28,794 graduates.

Academic Programs:

Arts and Design

  • Bachelor of Fine Arts GRAPHIC COMMUNICATION
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts STUDIO ART

Arts Education

  • Bachelor in Community Development Programme
  • Bachelors in Economics
  • Doctor of Philosophy(Ph.D.) Programs at the School of Arts
  • Master in Development Studies
  • Master in Human and Natural Resources Studies

Developmental Studies

  • Masters in Developmental Studies

Language and Mass Communication

  • Bachelor in Mass Studies


  • Bachelor in Music
  • Master in Music

Educational Leadership

  • Bachelor in Chinese Language Teaching
  • Doctor of Philosophy(PhD) in Education
  • Master in Sustainable Development
  • Master in Technical and Vocational Education and Training (MTVET)
  • Master of Education in Leadership and Management (1 Year Program)
  • Master of Education (M Ed) in English Language Teaching (ELT)
  • Masters of Education in Leadership and Management(2 year program)
  • Masters of Education(M.Ed) in Mathematics Education
  • Masters of Philosophy in Educational Leadership
  • Masters of Philosophy(MPhil) in Education, specialising STEAM
  • Masters of Philosophy (MPhil) in English Language Education
  • One Year M.Ed Pedagogical Studies

Chemical Science and Engineering

  • Bachelor in Engineering (Chemical Engineering)Civil Engineering
  • Bachelor of Architecture
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering
  • Master of Engineering in (Structural Engineering)

Computer Science and Engineering

  • Bachelor of Engineering (Computer Engineering)
  • Bachelor of Science (Computer Science)
  • PhD in DoCSE
  • Master of Engineering (Computer Engineering)
  • Master of Technology (Information Technology)
  • MS by Research DoCSE

Electrical and Electronics Engineering

  • Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Ph.D in Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Master of Engineering
  • MS By Research

Geomatics Engineering

  • Bachelor of Engineering in Geomatics Engineering
  • Master in Land Administration

Mechanical Engineering

  • Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
  • Master of Engineering (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Master of Engineering (Planning and Operation of Energy System)


  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  • Bachelor of Business Administration(BBA)(EMPHASIS)
  • Bachelor of Business Administration(BBA)(Honors)

Doctor of Philosophy in Management

  • Master of Philosophy in Management (MPhilM)
  • Master of Business Administration(Executive) (EMBA)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)

Management Informatics and Communication

  • Bachelor of Business Information Systems (BBIS)
  • Masters of Philosophy (MPhil) in English Language Education


  • Bachelor of Technology in Biotechnology
  • Master in Science by Research (Biotechnology)

Environmental Science and Engineering

  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science(B.Sc.ES)
  • Bachelor of Technology in Environmental Engineering
  • Doctor of Philosophy(PhD) in Environmental Science
  • Master of Technology(M.Tech) in Environmental Engineering


  • Bachelor of Science in Computational Mathematics
  • Doctor of Philosophy(Ph.D.) in Mathematics
  • Master of Philosophy(M.Phil) in Mathematics


  • Bachelor of Pharmacy
  • Doctor in Philosophy(Ph.D.) in Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Master in Pharmacy
  • Master in Science by Research (Pharmaceutical Sciences)
  • Master of Pharmacy(Industrial Pharmacy)


  • Sc. in Applied Physics
  • Doctor of Philosophy(Ph.D.) in Physics
  • M.Sc. in Physics


  • B.A.LL.B (Bachelor of Arts Bachelor of Laws) 

Contact no:

Official Website: